Skip to content

Facts & Figures

The level of "digital fitness" in Austria was determined in 2022 with the Digital Skills Barometer.

The Digital Skills Barometer is the first official survey to measure digital skills in Austria based on the DigComp 2.2 AT competence framework with self-assessment and knowledge-based questions.

The survey was conducted in the months of April and May in 2022 with a sample classifying gender, age and federal state of almost 4,000 people living in Austria.

The result of the Digital Skills Barometer is a detailed insight into the level of digitalisation of the Austrian population and provides the basis for the next steps in skills development.

(Both versions are currently only available in German.)

Highlights of the study

Digital fitness is overestimated. The results show that self-assessment questions or questions about usage habits are not sufficient to determine the actual digital skills of Austrians. Usually, people tend to overestimate their own digital fitness.

Practice is a prerequisite for digital performance. Just as in sports, it is not enough to engage with digital developments and applications only a few times. In order to build up a solid condition and stay fit, you need ongoing practice!

A high level of education makes you digitally fit. Formal education correlates with digital competence. The higher the formal educational qualification, the higher the digital fitness on average and the more realistic the self-assessment of one's own digital competences. People with a higher level of formal education recognise their knowledge gaps more easily and educate themselves more frequently on digital topics.

The gender gap requires attention. Women not only rate their digital competences lower than men, but they also achieve a lower level of fitness compared to men. At the same time, home office provision by employers is worse for women than for men. There are many arguments in favour of promoting women's digital competence through awareness raising, fitness training and equipment.

Austrians learn informally. According to the European Commission, digital competences are among the eight key competences for "lifelong learning", but only 10.4% of the population between 15 and 74 years of age participate in relevant courses or training on an annual average. Learning scenarios for the digital world tend to be informal: almost 70% of digital skills development takes place through learning by doing or internet platforms and forums.

Skills level at a glance

No significant difference in knowledge can be found between the federal states. The Austrian population scored between 40.8% and 43.3% on average for the knowledge-based questions.

The knowledge gaps are greatest in the areas of foundations and access as well as safety. More than half of the people surveyed are only at competence level 1, which means they score just under 20% of 100% on the knowledge-based test. People at this level have a basic understanding of the subject and can perform simple tasks under guidance, but not yet independently.

One fifth of the respondents achieve up to 40% (competence level 2). These people can already perform simple tasks independently, but sometimes still need support. In the area of problem solving and continuing learning, about a quarter of the respondents reach competence level 4 or higher. They have a deeper proficiency and can pass on their knowledge to others.

Partners of fit4internet in this project are:

Accenture, Federal Ministry of Finance, ETC, Federation of Austrian Industry, Austrian Federal Economic Chamber

Zum Inhalt springen

Zahlen, Daten, Fakten

Wie es um die "digitale Fitness" in Österreich bestellt ist, wurde 2022 mit dem Digital Skills Barometer ermittelt.

Beim Digital Skills Barometer handelt es sich um die erste repräsentative Erhebung, mit der digitale Kompetenzen in Österreich basierend auf dem Kompetenzmodell DigComp 2.2 AT mit Selbsteinschätzungs- und Wissensfragen erfasst wurden.

Durchgeführt wurde die Erhebung in den Monaten April und Mai 2022 mit einer nach Geschlecht, Alter und Bundesland geschichteten Stichprobe mit knapp 4.000 in Österreich lebenden Personen. 

Das Ergebnis des Digital Skills Barometer ist ein detailliertes Lagebild über den Digitalisierungsgrad der österreichischen Bevölkerung und bildet die Basis für die nächsten Schritte zum Kompetenzaufbau.

Highlights der Studie

Digitale Fitness wird falsch eingeschätzt. Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass Selbsteinschätzungsfragen oder Fragen nach Nutzungsgewohnheiten nicht ausreichen, um die tatsächlichen digitalen Kompetenzen der Österreicherinnen und Österreicher zu ermitteln. In der Regel wird die eigene digitale Fitness überschätzt.

Übung ist Voraussetzung für digitale Leistungsfähigkeit. Wie im Sport reicht es auch in der digitalen Welt nicht aus, sich nur wenige Male mit digitalen Entwicklungen und Anwendungen zu beschäftigen. Um eine solide Kondition aufzubauen und fit zu bleiben, braucht es laufende Praxis!

Ein hoher Bildungsabschluss macht digital fit. Formale Bildung korreliert mit digitaler Kompetenz. Je höher der formale Bildungsabschluss, desto höher ist im Durchschnitt auch die digitale Fitness und desto realistischer die Selbsteinschätzung der eigenen digitalen Kompetenzen. Formal höher gebildete Personen erkennen ihre Wissenslücken leichter und bilden sich häufiger zu digitalen Themen weiter.

Der Gender-Gap benötigt Aufmerksamkeit. Frauen schätzen nicht nur ihre digitalen Kompetenzen geringer ein als Männer, sondern sie erzielen im Vergleich zu Männern auch einen geringeren Fitnessgrad. Zugleich ist die Home-Office-Ausstattung durch Arbeitgeber für Frauen schlechter als für Männer. Viele spricht dafür, die digitale Kompetenz von Frauen durch Bewusstseinsbildung, Konditionstraining und Ausstattung zu fördern.

Österreicherinnen und Österreicher lernen informell. Digitale Kompetenzen zählen gemäß der Europäischen Kommission zu den acht Schlüsselkompetenzen für „Lebenslanges Lernen“, aber gerade einmal 10,4% der Bevölkerung zwischen 15 und 74 Jahren nehmen im Jahresdurchschnitt an entsprechenden Kursen oder Schulungen teil. Die Lernrealitäten für die digitale Welt gestalten sich eher informell: Der Aufbau der digitalen Skills findet zu knapp 70% über individuelles Ausprobieren oder Internet-Plattformen und -Foren statt.

Kompetenzstand im Überblick

Zwischen den Bundesländern lässt sich kein signifikanter Wissensunterschied feststellen. Die österreichische Wohnbevölkerung erreichte bei den Wissensfragen im Durchschnitt zwischen 40,8% und 43,3%.

Im Bereich Grundlagen und Zugang sowie Sicherheit sind die Wissenslücken am größten. Über die Hälfte der Befragten befindet sich lediglich auf Kompetenzstufe 1, d.h. sie erreicht knapp 20% von 100% bei der Wissensüberprüfung. Personen auf diesem Niveau verfügen über ein rudimentäres Themenverständnis und können einfache Aufgaben unter Anleitung, jedoch noch nicht selbständig ausführen.

Ein Fünftel der Befragten erreicht immerhin bis zu 40% (Kompetenzstufe 2). Diese Personen können einfache Aufgaben bereits selbstständig durchführen, benötigen mitunter aber noch Unterstützung. Im Bereich Problemlösen und Weiterlernen erreichen rund ein Viertel der Befragten Kompetenzstufe 4 oder höher. Sie haben eine vertiefte Expertise und können ihr Wissen an andere weitergeben.

Partner von fit4internet in diesem Projekt sind:

Accenture, Bundesministerium für Finanzen, ETC, Industriellenvereinigung Österreich, Wirtschaftskammer Österreich