Skip to content

European Digital Skills Award 2023

The European Digital Skills Award 2023 promotes projects and initiatives related to digital skills development in Europe. Application is open until April 8, 2023.

The call is open to all organisations that are implementing or have already implemented a project or initiative to promote digital competences in one of the five award categories. Applications can be submitted for one of the following categories: Promoting digital skills among young people, digital upskilling in the workplace, digital skills for education, media literacy for disadvantaged people, and promoting digital skills among women in the workplace. If a project or initiative covers more than one category, one must be selected for the application.

How to apply for the European Digital Skills Award 2023

To apply for the Digital Skills Award, the contact person of the applying organisation must register on the platform and create a user and organisation profile. The application deadline is 8 April 2023 at 12pm CET. The application must include a project description and explain the objectives, impact, sustainability, replicability, innovation, scope and accessibility of the project. If you have problems with the online application, you can contact the platform team via email:

Who can apply?

All organisations, such as public, private, university, research and/or training centres, schools, small and medium-sized enterprises or corporate enterprises, EU-funded project consortia, government bodies or citizens' initiatives, that have carried out or completed a digital literacy project or initiative in one of the five categories, are eligible to apply.

What criteria must be met for funding?

Projects or initiatives can be submitted for the Digital Skills Award if they are either completed or 50% successfully realised. The project must have been implemented in one or more countries of the European Union. Projects with several partner organisations can only apply once.

Application procedure

The application and selection process for the Digital Skills Award consists of three phases and is open until the 8th of April 2023. After the pre-selection, up to five finalists per category will be selected and presented to the jury. Selected projects will be presented in an online event on the 25th of May 2023. The winners will be announced in June and then invited to Brussels to receive the prizes and participate in a co-creation workshop.


Back to Press corner