Skip to content

Foundations and access

Understanding digital foundations is a prerequisite for finding your way around in a digital world. Here you will find an illustrative and exemplary description of the partial competences included in the competence area “Foundations and access” of the Digital Competence Framework for Austria:


Understanding the concepts of digitalisation

This is the partial competence 0.1 in the competence area 0 “Foundations and access” of the Digital Competence Framework for Austria.

What is it about?

This competence area includes understanding the technical difference between “analogue” and “digital”, as well as the basic structures, characteristics and terminology of the internet.

What does it mean in practice?

Digitally competent people know, for example, that analogue signals are infinitely variable. This means that they contain infinitely accurate information. Their digitisation, therefore, is always a reduction (you notice that, for example, when comparing a concert recording with the original in the concert hall). At the same time, however, digitised data is always available in the same quality: While a printed photo in an album may yellow over the years, a digital image will always look the same. Another advantage of digital data is that it can also be stored and shared more easily. Many technologies (e.g. watch, telephone and television) currently exist in an analogue and digital variant.

Why is that important?

Today, the digital and analogue worlds are becoming increasingly blurred. This is particularly evident in the fact that the internet is omnipresent and can no longer be ignored in our analogue world. The more social, economic and private processes (such as communication) are shifted to the internet, the more important it is to understand this new space sufficiently. Therefore, knowledge about the basic characteristics and functional mechanisms of the internet is essential.

Where can I continue learning?

On the homepage of fit4internet, you will find further background information on the Digital Competence Framework for Austria under the heading “Understanding”. In the section “Learning”, you will find learning offers to increase your digital competence.


Handling digital devices

This is the partial competence 0.2 in the competence area 0 “Foundations and access” of the Digital Competence Framework for Austria.

What is it about?

To be able to handle digital devices means to acquire, understand and apply different operating possibilities and concepts of new technologies.

What does it mean in practice?

For example: being able to operate a smartphone is a competence that is often required both in everyday and professional life. At levels 1-4, it means to be able to turn on the device, call up apps and perform other routine activities. With increasing levels of competence, the use of the device becomes more and more independent. Thus, at levels 1-2, the appropriation process takes place through remembering what is shown, i.e. imitation. At competence levels 3-4, you have already understood the basic application concepts and you can operate the device independently.

Why is that important?

In order to be able to act in a digitally competent manner, a fundamental understanding of basic concepts of digitalisation and application opportunities of digital devices is required. The competence area 0 is therefore the prerequisite for all other areas of competence and thus, has been added to the Austrian Competence Framework in comparison to the DigComp 2.1.

Where can I continue learning?

On the homepage of fit4internet, you will find further background information on the Digital Competence Framework for Austria under the heading “Understanding”. In the section “Learning”, you will find learning offers to increase your digital competence.


Using and providing inclusive forms of access to digital content

This is the partial competence 0.3 in the competence area 0 “Foundations and access” of the Digital Competence Framework for Austria.

What is it about?

This competence comprises knowledge about technical opportunities of digital accessibility and the ability to apply and provide them. In addition, the competence area includes awareness of various discriminating factors such as gender, culture or disability in using digital technologies.

What does it mean in practice?

Not everyone has the same opportunities to use digital technologies. Even with very basic things, barriers may occur. For example, people with a motor impairment of their hands cannot easily use touch screens or keyboards. Therefore, there are digital voice assistants that provide an alternative way of using the device, which can also be useful for people without impairments. For blind or visually impaired people, the use of digital technologies can also be associated with some hurdles. For this reason, programs called screen readers have been developed that read the content on the screen to blind people and enable them to surf the internet, "read" and write documents, etc.

Why is that important?

In the digital age, social participation is increasingly associated with digital participation. Since key aspects of social life are already taking place online and digitised, all people must at least be given the same chances to participate and contribute.

Where can I continue learning?

On the homepage of fit4internet, you will find further background information on the Digital Competence Framework for Austria under the heading “Understanding”. In the section “Learning”, you will find learning offers to increase your digital competence.

Back to competence overview

Skip to content

Grundlagen und Zugang

Digitale Grundlagen zu verstehen ist Voraussetzung dafür, sich in einer digitalen Welt zurechtzufinden. Hier finden Sie eine anschauliche und beispielhafte Beschreibung der Teilkompetenzen, die der Kompetenzbereich "Grundlagen und Zugang" des Digitalen Kompetenzmodells für Österreich umfasst:


Konzepte der Digitalisierung verstehen

Im Digitalen Kompetenzmodell für Österreich ist das Teilkompetenz 0.1 im Kompetenzbereich 0 „Grundlagen und Zugang“.

Was ist das?

Dieser Kompetenzbereich beinhaltet das Verständnis für den technischen Unterschied zwischen „analog“ und „digital“, sowie für die grundlegenden Strukturen, Eigenschaften und Begrifflichkeiten des Internets.

Was bedeutet es praktisch?

Digital kompetente Personen wissen zum Beispiel, dass analoge Signale stufenlos sind. Das bedeutet, dass sie unendlich genaue Information enthalten. Ihre Digitalisierung ist daher immer eine Reduktion (das merkt man zum Beispiel, wenn man eine Konzertaufnahme mit dem Original im Konzertsaal vergleicht). Gleichzeitig sind digitalisierte Daten aber dafür immer in der gleichen Qualität verfügbar: Während ein ausgedrucktes Foto in einem Album über die Jahre vergilben kann, wird ein digitales Bild immer gleich aussehen. Ein weiterer Vorteil von digitalen Daten ist, dass diese auch leichter gespeichert und weitergegeben werden können. Viele Technologien (z.B. Uhr, Telefon und Fernsehen) existieren derzeit in einer analogen und einer digitalen Variante.

Warum ist das wichtig?

Die digitale und die analoge Welt verschwimmen heutzutage immer stärker ineinander. Das zeigt sich vor allem daran, dass das Internet allgegenwärtig ist und nicht mehr aus unserer analogen Welt weggedacht werden kann. Je stärker gesellschaftliche, wirtschaftliche, aber auch private Prozesse (wie z.B. Kommunikation) ins Netz verlagert werden, desto wichtiger ist es, diesen neuen Raum auch ausreichend zu verstehen. Ein Wissen über die grundlegenden Eigenschaften und Funktionsmechanismen des Netzes sind daher unerlässlich.

Wo kann ich weiterlernen?

Auf der Homepage von fit4internet finden Sie unter der Rubrik „Verstehen“ weitere Hintergrundinformationen zum Digitalen Kompetenzmodell für Österreich. Unter „Lernen“ finden Sie Lernangebote zur Steigerung Ihrer digitalen Kompetenz.


Digitale Geräte bedienen

Im Digitalen Kompetenzmodell für Österreich ist das Teilkompetenz 0.2 im Kompetenzbereich 0 „Grundlagen und Zugang“.

Was ist das?

Digitale Geräte bedienen zu können bedeutet, sich verschiedene Bedienungsmöglichkeiten und –konzepte neuer Technologien anzueignen, sie zu verstehen und anzuwenden.

Was bedeutet es praktisch?

Dazu ein Beispiel: ein Smartphone bedienen zu können ist eine Kompetenz, die häufig im Alltag und im Berufsleben benötigt wird. Auf den Stufen 1-4 bedeutet das konkret das Gerät einschalten, Apps aufrufen und sonstige Routinetätigkeiten durchführen zu können. Mit steigender Kompetenzstufe wird die Anwendung immer selbstständiger. So vollzieht sich der Aneignungsprozess auf den Stufen 1-2 über das Erinnern von Gezeigtem, also Nachahmung. Auf den Kompetenzstufen 3-4 hat man bereits die grundlegenden Anwendungskonzepte verstanden und weiß schon recht selbstständig, wie das Gerät zu bedienen ist.

Warum ist das wichtig?

Um digital kompetent handeln zu können, braucht es ein grundlegendes Verständnis basaler Konzepte der Digitalisierung und Anwendungsmöglichkeiten digitaler Geräte. Der Kompetenzbereich 0 ist somit die Voraussetzung für alle anderen Kompetenzbereiche und wurde deswegen im österreichischen Kompetenzmodell gegenüber dem DigComp 2.1. ergänzt.

Wo kann ich weiterlernen?

Auf der Homepage von fit4internet finden Sie unter der Rubrik „Verstehen“ weitere Hintergrundinformationen zum Digitalen Kompetenzmodell für Österreich. Unter „Lernen“ finden Sie Lernangebote zur Steigerung Ihrer digitalen Kompetenz.


Inklusive Formen des Zugangs zu digitalen Angeboten kennen, nutzen und bereitstellen

Im Digitalen Kompetenzmodell für Österreich ist das Teilkompetenz 0.3 im Kompetenzbereich 0 “Grundlagen und Zugang“.

Was ist das?

Diese Kompetenz umfasst das Wissen über technische Möglichkeiten digitaler Barrierefreiheit sowie die Fähigkeit, diese anzuwenden und bereitzustellen. Außerdem beinhaltet der Kompetenzbereich das Bewusstsein hinsichtlich verschiedener Diskriminationsfaktoren wie zum Beispiel Geschlecht, Kultur oder Behinderung bei der Nutzung digitaler Technologien.

Was bedeutet es praktisch?

Nicht alle Personen haben die gleichen Möglichkeiten, digitale Technologien zu verwenden. Dabei kann es schon bei sehr grundlegenden Dingen zu Nutzungs-Barrieren kommen: Zum Beispiel können Menschen mit einer motorischen Beeinträchtigung der Hände nicht ohne Weiteres Touchscreens oder Tastaturen benutzen. Daher gibt es digitale Sprachassistenten, die diesen Personen eine alternative Nutzungsmöglichkeit bieten und darüber hinaus auch für Menschen ohne Beeinträchtigung praktisch sein können. Auch für blinde oder sehbeeinträchtigte Menschen ist die Verwendung von digitalen Technologien mit einigen Hürden verbunden. Es wurden deshalb zum Beispiel Programme, sogenannte Screenreader, entwickelt, die den blinden Personen die Inhalte auf dem Bildschirm vorlesen und ihnen ermöglichen, im Internet zu surfen, Dokumente zu lesen und zu schreiben usw.

Warum ist das wichtig?

Im Zeitalter der Digitalisierung ist die soziale Teilhabe zunehmend mit Fragen der digitalen Partizipation verbunden. Da zentrale Aspekte des gesellschaftlichen Lebens bereits online und digitalisiert stattfinden, müssen alle Menschen zumindest annähernd dieselben Chancen erhalten, an diesen teilzunehmen und sich einbringen zu können.

Wo kann ich weiterlernen?

Auf der Homepage von fit4internet finden Sie unter der Rubrik „Verstehen“ weitere Hintergrundinformationen zum Digitalen Kompetenzmodell für Österreich. Unter „Lernen“ finden Sie Lernangebote zur Steigerung Ihrer digitalen Kompetenz.

Zurück zur Kompetenz-Übersicht